Traffic Violations

Driver Responsibility Assessment

As traffic tickets in New York do not have fine information on the tickets, it is important that you contact a Driver Responsibility Assessment Lawyer if you have a question about your traffic ticket.

In addition to any fines, fees, penalties, or surcharges that you pay for a traffic conviction, you may have to pay the "driver responsibility assessment". The assessment is an amount that you must pay each year for three years. You pay the assessment to the DMV if you receive six or more points on your NYS driver record during a period of 18 months.

Driver Responsibility Assessment Amounts

If you receive six points on your driver record during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $100. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $300. If you receive more than six points on your driver record during a period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $25 for each point more than the original six points. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $75 for each point more than the original six points.


The 18 months count from day of violation, how long you push off the conviction date makes no difference to the driver responsibility assessment.

The Driver Responsibility Assessment: A Hidden Fee and Liability

Even if you call the Court and ask them what your ticket will cost you, and even if you check up the fee online, you still can get caught unawares by the Driver Responsibility Assessment. For instance; the maximum fine amount of the speeding ticket for driving 21 MPH over the posted limit is $300. If you are careful, you will notice that there is a surcharge of $93. Even if you plead guilty, the Court will only print out on your bill the fine amount and the surcharge. Unless you read the fine print you will be unaware of the additional $300 which you will have to pay.

How do one know if they must pay the driver responsibility assessment? Only the DMV will send a statement to the driver! If that statement does not make it to you, or if DMV does not have your correct address on record, or if you do not understand the statement, your license will be suspended, and you could be arrested for the misdemeanor of driving on a suspended license (511-1a).

In order to protect yourself from these serious consequences, it is important to discuss your matter in detail with a knowledgeable New York traffic ticket lawyer. Schedule a free consultation today.

Contact The Firm

If you have further questions regarding no signal violations, do not hesitate to contact a skilled New York traffic ticket attorney. Our office can be reached by calling 800-464-8269 or by completing our online contact form. We offer free initial consultations and accept credit cards as payment for services.